On Another Job.

Paul L. Bucklaw
3 min readSep 22, 2022

When I first met you you mentioned about poor people getting jobs. You made it sound so easy.

(This is email that turned into a story. It was written to a friend who is a priest.)

The job of the poor is to test the rich.

You probably haven’t noticed the bathroom doors downstairs and how the metal portion that people kick hasn’t been cleaned or polished. And that reminds me of a story.

Years ago I was looking for a job in New Hampshire and afraid to go into the ritzy Hanover Inn. It was intimidating.

I procrastinated until one day really desperate for a job I put in an application. I was hired as a temp worker. God saved me from having to work at this dreaded place for years. And I knew differently.

Really this is just a part of the story. A few times I saved them from failing inspections. Because I had a nose for inspectors. And I thought the Catholic church should have an inspector general or a group that travels from church to church and inspects churches just like they do with schools.

One day I was polishing the brass on the back steps and my boss the general manager of the hotel happened to be coming up the back steps.

He asked what I was doing. I told him I was polishing the brass which he could evidently see.

He started to ask why. But before he could get it out I told him that one day an inspector was going to come in the back door as they often did and notice that the…

--

--

Paul L. Bucklaw

Who am I ? That is the eternal question. slackivist.com. Writer ? Hero ? Motivator ? Environmentalist ? If you know let me know. Visit demicnews.com