Winning.

Paul L. Bucklaw
6 min readJan 20, 2022

Scottie Pippen criticized Michael Jordan. And Jordan didn’t flinch. He just kept on doing and playing his game and sharpening his skills.

Who is Leroy Smith? Crickets. Doesn’t ring any bells? So even those times that we are superstars from time-to-time we need to reflect and go back to our game and find our equanimity.

When I was in Las Vegas I was talking to young man and when I questioned him about his why he was where he was at in life. He had lots of people to blame. And it reminded me of all the things about business that I didn’t like even though I liked business.

Watching a video of Johnny Carson who talked about his mother whom he labeled the shrew, he blamed her for the failures of his marriages. Imagine. He wasn’t above the fray that we all get caught up in from time to time.

And we are supposed to ask, “not that the task gets easier but that we will get better.” And when we get better at life events at coping and dealing with them then we become diamonds in the rough.

So this morning I woke thinking about the advice I gave the young man. “If we aren’t getting what we want in life there is no one to blame except ourselves.” I don’t think he liked that and when I first said it to myself at age fifty I didn’t either. It was tough medicine.

--

--

Paul L. Bucklaw

Who am I ? That is the eternal question. slackivist.com. Writer ? Hero ? Motivator ? Environmentalist ? If you know let me know. Visit demicnews.com